As the Granite State Pro Stock Series makes its way through the long New England off-season, series staff and teams prepare for the upcoming racing calendar.

The 2020 Schedule has seen a few last-minute adjustments of late, but the bulk of it remains the same. The tentative Adirondack date won’t happen but Waterford has picked up that date and construction at the CT shoreline oval seems to be progressing nicely.

Also recently announced was a rain date for The Beech Ridge event. Should weather interrupt the Friday, July 24th event, it will happen on Saturday, July 25thinstead.

Finally, for the last several years, The GSPSS has highlighted the Friday portion of Thompson’s World Series. New for 2020 is a Saturday race date and the series will crown its champion on that weekend.

Teams also have begun thinking about the season ahead and if early registrations are any indication, 2020 could be a record-breaking year. Nearly twenty teams have registered as of the first of February with drivers from seven states having filed paperwork to compete.

A pair of former champions have registered for 2020. Two-time series champion Mike O’Sullivan will compete in his traditional #08. The Wilbraham MA driver ran a limited schedule in 2019 after work commitments and an injury cut short his season. Another former champion returning for 2020 is Belchertown Mass’, Barry Gray. The 2016 titleholder looks to right the ship after a dismal 2019 season.

Other veterans that have registered thus far include Wayne Helliwell Jr. And his Bruce Barnhardt lead team as well as long time series competitor Cory Casagrande and Claremont NH’s Luke Hinkley.

Ray Christian III and his Crazy Horse Racing team have registered for the 2020 season as they try to move up one spot in the final point standings. Christian will face stiff competition from several teams including The Davis Chassis Works team lead by driver Jeremy Davis in their brand new machine.

Several newcomers look to compete with the series in the coming season. Beech Ridge veteran Trevor Sanborn and Seekonk veterans Kevin Casper and Ryan Lineham have both filed paperwork. So do have Sayville, New York’s Kyle Harvell and Cody Leblanc who will both compete for rookie of the year honors.

Young guns Jimmy Renfrew Jr., Jake Matheson, and Gabe Brown are all early registrants. All three look to continue to learn and improve their results in 2020.

Despite it already being 2020, there is one more event on the 2019 schedule. The annual banquet of champions will be held on Saturday, Feb. 22nd at The Thompson Speedway clubhouse. There, the series will honor 2020 GSPSS champion Joey Doiron and his team on their championship season. Despite recent shoulder surgery, Doiron and his family-owned team are expected to try to defend their title in 2020. At the banquet, they will receive the champion’s share of a record series point fund.

For more information go to or check them out on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram.

Registered Drivers (as of 02/03/2020)

·         00  Jimmy Renfrew Jr.

·         7   Cory Casagrande

·         08  Mike O’Sullivan

·         12  Bobby Pelland Jr.

·         16  Kyle Harvell

·         17  Kevin Folan

·         27  Wayne Helliwell Jr.

·         28  Greg Nanigian

·         29  Barry Gray

·         29s  Trevor Sanborn

·         31  Luke Hinkley

·         47  Gabe Brown

·         48  Ryan Lineham

·         51  Bill Ahern

·         52  Jake Matheson

·         55  Cody LeBlanc

·         88  Kevin Casper

·         90  Casey Call

·         93  Ray Christian III


Tilton Agrees to Become Marketing Partner with CRA for 2020


FAST Continues Exclusive Ignition Program with CRA in 2020