NEW SMYRNA, FL – The main event on the card was the Super Late Model 50 Lap series opener. With surprisingly only seven cars officially entered in the feature. Before the field could even go green. The number seventeen of JD Hicks would then have mechanical issues, be unable to make the call, narrowing the field even further.

Then as luck would have it, on the drop of the green. The thirty-nine machine would get loose, slam the front stretch wall, destroying the car, and making a short night for Morgan Hoover. Leaving it to the remaining five competitors in the field, to take the green and battle it out, for one-hundred laps of feature racing at New Smyrna Speedway.

On the second and final attempt to start the feature event. Brad May would storm into the lead. Establishing himself as the man to beat in the advertised 50-lapper. Fast-qualifier Michael Atwell appeared to be reeling in the defending Super Late Model Track Champion.

Before mechanical issues would sideline his fifty-one car around the 20-lap mark. Allowing May to win easily over his closest challenger and runner-up. The returning Wayne Anderson in his famous number eighty-four. Followed by the twenty-four machine of Dalton Smith to round out the top three.

Last year’s champ May will be tough to beat in 2020 and certainly is a favorite to win July 4th’s Annual Clyde Hart Memorial 100 in the coming weeks. A great field of cars is expected for that event, by the way. So make your plans to spend Independence Day at New Smyrna Speedway!

Feature Results

1) 9 Brad May
2) 84 Wayne Anderson
3) 24 Dalton Smith
4) 51 Michael Atwell
5) 01 Vincent Staggs
6) 39 Morgan Hoover
7) 17 JD Hicks(DNS)

Fast Qualifier

51 Michael Atwell 17.450 @ 103.152mph

For more information on New Smyrna Speedway visit


Trevor Huddleston is Victorious in Duel Irwindale 35's


Casey Johnson earns first victory in WABAM 75 at Slinger