KAUKAUNA, WI – For the past two seasons, Casey Johnson has been the man to beat on Thursday nights at Wisconsin International Raceway. Piloting the #47 Chase Motorsports entry in Fox River Racing Club competition, the Edgerton, WI native recorded 4 wins per year on his way to back to back FRRC Championships at the D-shaped oval. Johnson is likely to once again prove his worth on Tuesday Night August 4, when NASCAR Cup Champion Kyle Busch and a host of national and regional Super Late Model drivers embark on Wisconsin International for the Gandrud Auto Group 250.

On the strength of commanding victories at both Jefferson and Rockford during his 2019 campaign, Casey Johnson recorded his first ARCA Midwest Tour Championship. Those in the Midwest have known for quite some time that Casey is one of the most talented Late Model drivers in the region. The 2016 Rookie of the Year and Larry Detjens Sportsmanship Award recipient was declared the winner at WIR in August of 2017, taking home the $10,000 winner’s check, driving a car that he had never even been in until that day as he put together a last second deal to race the late Sal Magnolia’s bright orange Chevrolet. If he was not already on the National radar, he was after that night.

Not surprisingly, Johnson who has teamed up with 2007 ASA Late Model Champion Travis Dassow alongside Chase Motorsports, is already winning races in 2020 including at Wisconsin International Raceway and Slinger Super Speedway. The two-time Big 8 Late Model Series and TUNDRA Series Champion also finished in the runner-up position to four-time Tour Champ Ty Majeski in last month’s Slinger Nationals. Additionally, trips to Anderson (IN) Speedway netted him a pair of top fives including a fourth place showing in the ARCA CRA Super Series Redbud 400.

Look for Johnson’s #47 Montgomery Ward, Hougan Farms, UAW Region 4 Chevrolet to contend for the win in Tuesday night August 4th’s Gandrud Auto Group 250 at Wisconsin International Raceway. In addition to his accomplishments discussed above, he has won the last four Wisconsin State Championships at Jefferson Speedway with five total wins in that event at his hometrack where he is a three-time Track Champion. Johnson also is the 2016 Red, White and Blue State Champion at WIR and was the 2016 and 2019 victor in the oldest fall special of all, Rockford (IL) Speedway’s National Short Track Championships.

Advance discount tickets are $20 and can be purchased online at www.midwesttour.racing through August 3. Tickets will also be available on race day at the gate for $25. Spectator gates open at 4pm, qualifying will begin at 5pm with the first race at 7pm during the Tuesday Night August 4 Special Event.

A 28 car field is scheduled to start ‘Wisconsin’s Richest One Day Race’ which pays $10,000 to the winner of the 250 lap event and $1,200 to start. Drivers from ten states and Canada are expected to attempt to make the starting grid. The Midwest Truck Series will join the ARCA Midwest Tour with the trucks contesting a 35 lap feature event.

(see full entry list below)

ARCA Midwest Tour Release and Photo

Gandrud Auto Group 250 – Entry List

[supsystic-tables id=145]

For more information on the ARCA Midwest Tour visit midwesttour.racing


RACE RESULTS: Bubar wins Beech Ridge Pro Series 75 Lap Feature


Johnny Sauter Looks for Third 250 Win Tuesday at WIR