KAUKAUNA, WI – The “Montello Missle” Bobby Kendall snatched the lead away from Darboy’s Sawyer Effertz on a lap 11 restart and cruised to a full straightaway super late model victory at Wisconsin International Raceway in Kaukauna Thursday. With his win Kendall became the fourth different winner in as many weeks in WIR’s top class.

Effertz took command of the race, leading the early going of the 35-lap contest. “The Maverick” stretched a comfortable four car length margin while Kendall and Grant Griesbach scrapped for the runnerup spot.

Effertz’ margin was erased on lap nine when Jeff Holmgren Jr. made contact with another racer, sending his machine spinning out of turn four. When racing resumed Kendall pulled door-to-door with Effertz and the pair battled for the top spot. The Montello wheelman wrestled the lead from Effertz and went to work quickly building up a sizeable lead over the balance of the field.

In the second half of the contest Freedom’s Brent Strelka charged through the pack, taking advantage of an Effertz slip in turn two to snatch second. Strelka tried reeling in the second-generation racer but the effort was futile as Kendall was not to be denied on this evening. Strelka settled for second at the pay window, followed by Jeff Van Oudenhoven, Effertz and Andy Monday rounding out the top five finishers.

Dash Results

1) 45V Jeff Vanoudenhoven
2) 11K Bobby Kendall
3) 10M Andy Monday
4) 52 Brent Strelka
5) 1J Jesse Oudenhoven
6) 47G Eugene Gregorich Jr.

Feature Results

1) 11K Bobby Kendall
2) 52 Brent Strelka
3) 45V Jeff Vanoudenhoven
4) 2E Sawyer Effertz
5) 10M Andy Monday
6) 1J Jesse Oudenhoven
7) 66S Alex Stumpf
8) 17G Grant Griesbach
9) 47G Eugene Gregorich Jr.
10) 9C Mickey Schallie
11) 5H Jeff Holmgren
12) 2B Lowell Bennett
13) 40 Curt Tillman
14) 28 Corey Manders
15) 33V Trevor Vandermolen
16) 50 Mike Anthony
17) 9B Braison Bennett
18) 30V Pete Vandermolen Jr.
19) 72S Randy Schuler

Wisconsin International Raceway Press Release


RACE RESULTS: Golden Sands Speedway - 6/26


Two-Time Nut Up Champion Buddy Shepherd wins at Madera Speedway