Grundy hosts ARCA Midwest Tour for 34th Wayne Carter Classic

MORRIS, IL- They both have won NASCAR National Championships, albeit in different countries. Now Cayden Lapcevich and Jacob Goede will bring their racing talents to Grundy County Speedway this Saturday Night July 11 for the 34th Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck and Equipment.

Lapcevich turned heads last fall at the one-third mile paved Grundy County oval during the Tony Bettenhausen Memorial in which he rallied to a fourth place finish in his Bobby Blount prepared mount. Having won six times on the NASCAR Canadian Tour and capturing the 2016 Championship in the process, the native of Grimsby, Ontario will make his first Midwest Tour start in the 100 lap feature event Saturday night under the new LED lights.

Meanwhile, Jacob Goede has two career Midwest Tour victories to his credit. The 2009 Tour Rookie of the Year and 2007 Bristol Motor Speedway victor has run a partial Super Late Model schedule as of late, concentrating on his weekly racing efforts. Those efforts have paid off, winning six consecutive Championships at Elko (MN) Speedway and capturing the 2019 NASCAR Weekly Racing Series National Championship on the strength of ten wins last season. He won just last week at LaCrosse Fairgrounds (WI) Speedway.

Joining the ARCA Midwest Tour will be the Midwest Dash Series and the Northern Outlaw Vintage Series. The Wayne Carter Classic began in 1975 when Tom Reffner defeated Bob Roper in what was the first ever ARTGO Racing event. Spectator Gates will open at 4:30pm, qualifying begins at 5pm with the First Race starting at 7pm.

Adult General Admission Tickets are $20, Seniors (62 and over) are $18, Students (ages 12-17) are $10 with kids ages 11 and under admitted Free. Tickets will be available for purchase at the gate or can be purchased in advance through Friday night on the tour website. For additional information or to buy tickets for this event, please visit

Expected Entries
34th Wayne Carter Classic presented by Rod Baker Ford and Illinois Truck & Equipment
ARCA Midwest Tour
Saturday July 11, 2020
Grundy County Speedway, Morris, IL

0Josh NelmsLockportILMcMahon Transport/Vandoorn Racing DevelopmentChevrolet
3Alex ClubbMorrisILA. Clubb Lawn Care & LandscapingChevrolet
6Eric WhiteSt. JohnINReliable Recovery ServicesToyota
7Paul Shafer, JrPortageINPaul’s Auto YardsChevrolet
8Eddie HoffmanWheatonILFeece Oil/Advanced GeneratorChevrolet
13Andrew BrockerJeffersonWIAmerican State EquipmentChevrolet
14Austin NasonRoscoeILMontgomery Ward/Haase Builders/JRS Shocks/Kar KornerFord
15Gabe SommersPloverWIDeKalb/Kwik Trip/Tasteful Selections Potatoes/Allied Co-opToyota
16DJ WeltmeyerDyerINEngine Masters/DeNovi Heating & CoolingChevrolet
16Cayden LapcevichGrimsbyONTA Services/AP Race Engines/All-Star PerfFord
16Nathan KellyWilmingtonILElite Tradeshow/Greg and Sons Const/Whip FX Graphic WrapsChevrolet
25Jeff StormEast TroyWIGreat Lakes Components/Duramax Trucking/All Pro MechanicalChevrolet
36Dan FredricksonLakevilleMNHerman’s Landscape Supply/Justman FreightToyota
39Andrew MorrisseyDeForestWIB&B Racing Engines/MRI, Inc Chassis & FabricationFord
44Justin MondeikGleasonWIAGRA Industries/Aqua Finance/Industrial Accessories CompanyChevrolet
45Rich Bickle, JrEdgertonWIT1 Racing/Wegner Automotive/Barnyard to BrickyardChevrolet
47Casey JohnsonEdgertonWIMontgomery Ward/Hougan Farms/UAW Region 4Chevrolet
52Andy JonesWaukeganILKBR Performance/Evolve Concepts/Pomp’s Tire ServiceFord
52Ricky BakerPlainfieldILRod Baker Ford/Illinois Truck and EquipmentFord
55Scott KoernerJolietILAdvanced Powder Coating/Brandolino’s Encore Music/SontagToyota
72Jacob GoedeCarverMNBaby Gowdy/Goetz Trucking/Northern Racing ProductsChevrolet
73Joe VinachiMorrisILMidwest Industrial Sales/Indicom Electric/Oval EngineeringChevrolet
77Jonathan EilenHamptonMNEilen & Sons Trucking & Landscape/Graber Auto BodyFord
78Skylar HolzhausenBangorWIKempf Logging/Wehrs Machine/Fechner MotorsFord
80Ryan FarrellBig BendWILingford Construction & Transport/Able PlumbingChevrolet
119Dalton ZehrDaytona BeachFLGildan/American Apparel/Comfort Colors/Prim + Preux/AMSChevrolet

Wayne Carter Classic Winners
1975 Tom Reffner
1976 Dave Watson
1977 Larry Phillips
1978 Mike Miller
1979 Mike Miller
1980 Mark Malcuit
1981 Larry Schuler
1982 Jim Sauter
1983 Tom Reffner
1984 Dick Trickle
1985 Butch Miller
1986 Joe Shear
1987 Dick Trickle
1988 Joe Shear
1989 Ted Musgrave
1990 Steve Carlson
1991 Kevin Cywinski
1992 Steve Holzhausen
1993 Joe Shear
1994 Joe Shear
1995 Joe Shear
1996 Dave Weltmeyer
1997 Joe Shear
1998 Eddie Hoffman
1999 Steve Carlson
2011 Ross Kenseth
2012 Eddie Hoffman
2013 Jonathan Eilen
2014 Chris Weinkauf
2015 Eddie Hoffman
2016 Ty Majeski
2017 Ricky Baker
2018 Dalton Zehr

ARCA Midwest Tour Press Release

Previous Gate City Classic up next for Granite State Pro Stock Series
Next Ty Majeski dominates 41st Annual Slinger Nationals

Suggested Posts

CHARLESTOWN, NH – In 2020 The Granite State Pro Stock Series will visit eleven tracks across five states. The series, in its ninth year of operation, will undertake its most ambitious schedule to date with one new venue and plenty of great racing for competitors and fans alike.

SALEM, IN – The Champion Racing Association and the ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by JEGS. Have officially released their pavement Super Late Model race schedule for the 2020 season. With the 2020 ARCA/CRA Super Series season consisting of 14 races, 11 of which being point events.

MOORESVILLE, NC – The CARS Super Late Model Tour will introduce an all-new touring program for the 2020 season. The “Super Six” program is a touring loyalty program dedicated to teams receiving additional financial and promotional benefits for participating full time on the CARS Super Late Model Tour in 2020.

MOORESVILLE, NC – The CARS Super Late Model Tour will bolster the 2020 season schedule with the addition of the “Rowdy Manufacturing Super Challenge” that will allow winning and championship-caliber Super Late Model drivers to compete for no less than $10,000 to win at every event on the 2020 CARS Super Late Model schedule, anytime …