Joey Doiron crowned 2019 GSPSS Champion

Joey Doiron crowned 2019 GSPSS Champion

The Granite State Pro Stock Series officially brought its 2019 season to a close on Saturday, February 22, at the Thompson Speedway Motor Sports Park clubhouse. The season-ending banquet of champions was a chance for the teams of the GSPSS to get together one last time as part of the 2019 season and honor their champion.

Joey Doiron and his team were officially crowned champions for the 2019 season and at the end of the night, they took home the champions check worth $4000.00, the largest in series history. In addition, New England Race Fuels and Sunoco gave Doiron a champion’s jacket and American Racer outfitted both Joey and his car owner/father with Jackets to commemorate their achievement. Doiron graciously thanked series president Mike Parks, the series officials and each of his team members individually. He then thanked his wife, kids, mom and finally his father as he got emotional talking about all the years they shared leading up to this championship. Doiron not only took the Championship but $500.00 from Crazy Horse Racing for setting fast time in time trials an amazing five out of eleven times, far more than any other competitor.

In addition to crowning the champions, a number of specialty awards were handed out. Bobby Pelland and youngster Jake Matheson were crowned co-AR Bodies rookies of the year as both teams had successful first Granite State Pro Stock Series seasons. For winning the rookie title they were each awarded a $1000.00 certificate from AR bodies.

Also given out was the annual John “Boy” Hoyt memorial dedication to motorsports award. This award is given to someone who goes above and beyond for the sport of auto racing. The 2019 award winner was Barry Gray in honor of his unwavering dedication to, and support of the series. Gray, the 2016 series champion, was humbled and nearly speechless as he received his plaque.

There were a number of contingency awards given out starting with two AR Bodies gift certificates that went to Ray Christian III and 2017 series champion Devin O’Connell. O’Reilly Auto Parts donated $600.00 worth of gift cards with four teams getting $150.00 each. The teams of Luke Hinkley, Bobby Pelland, Joey Doiron, and Barry Gray each had their numbers pulled. All the names went back in the hat and Barry Gray was instructed to pull the winner of a brand new VDL carburetor and he pulled his own number twenty-nine.

The final group to be honored were the top ten in points, seven of whom were in attendance to receive their trophy’s, point fund money and be honored by their fellow competitors. Along with Doiron, Ray Christian III, Devin O’Connell, and Jimmy Renfrew Jr were recognized for their top five point’s position. Josh King wound up in fifth in the point standings but a last-minute work emergency forced him to miss the banquet. Also in attendance were sixth through eighth place point’s finishers Luke Hinkley, Bobby Pelland, and Mike Mitchell who received trophies and point fund checks.

The complete 2019 point standings, as well as the 2020 schedule and more, can be found at along with all the latest series news. Also, follow the series on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for all the latest news and highlights.

Previous Hyperco Renews Support of CRA for the 2020 Season
Next Scorzelli Excited to Return to Stafford in Pro Late Model

Suggested Posts

CHARLESTOWN, NH – In 2020 The Granite State Pro Stock Series will visit eleven tracks across five states. The series, in its ninth year of operation, will undertake its most ambitious schedule to date with one new venue and plenty of great racing for competitors and fans alike.

SALEM, IN – The Champion Racing Association and the ARCA/CRA Super Series powered by JEGS. Have officially released their pavement Super Late Model race schedule for the 2020 season. With the 2020 ARCA/CRA Super Series season consisting of 14 races, 11 of which being point events.

MOORESVILLE, NC – The CARS Super Late Model Tour will introduce an all-new touring program for the 2020 season. The “Super Six” program is a touring loyalty program dedicated to teams receiving additional financial and promotional benefits for participating full time on the CARS Super Late Model Tour in 2020.

MOORESVILLE, NC – The CARS Super Late Model Tour will bolster the 2020 season schedule with the addition of the “Rowdy Manufacturing Super Challenge” that will allow winning and championship-caliber Super Late Model drivers to compete for no less than $10,000 to win at every event on the 2020 CARS Super Late Model schedule, anytime …