NORWAY, MI – Gleason’s Justin Mondeik slipped underneath Madison’s Dalton Zehr with five laps remaining and held on to win the 37th annual Stateline Challenge presented by Island Resort & Casino & Aurora Liquors at Norway Speedway Friday night.

Wausau, Wisconsin’s Mark Mackesy jumped into the lead at the outset of the 75 lap contest and held the top spot through a pair of early caution periods. Vulcan’s Dan Lindsley wrestled the lead away from Mackesy on lap nine and kept the lead for the next several circuits.

While Lindsley was enjoying his lead a three car tussle ensued between Appleton, Wisconsin’s Andy Monday, Zehr and Mondeik. Monday snatched the lead away from Lindsley on lap 38 only to surrender the top spot to Zehr ten laps later.

During the last third of the contest Mondeik reeled in Zehr and began applying the pressure. With five circuits remaining Mondeik ducked underneath Zehr to take the lead and cruise to the win. Zehr settled for second with Monday taking home third place money. Wisconsin drivers swept the top three spots with Lindsley representing Michigan with the best finish in fourth.

“I have all the respect in the world for Dalton and I didn’t mean to get into him a bit over in one and two towards the end,” Mondeik said. “We race a lot and Toby Nuttleman and the entire crew really put together a great car for me here tonight. We were happy to be racing up here.”

For more information on the Stateline Challenge and/or Norway Speedway visit


BINK’S COCA COLA SUPER LATE MODEL FEATURE – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, WI; Dalton Zehr, Madison, WI; Andy Monday, Appleton, WI; Dan Lindsley, Vulcan; Mark Mackesy, Wausau, WI; Jason Wells, Kingsford; Scott Stanchina, Kingsford; Alex Seidl, Appleton, WI; Mike Lantange, Vulcan; Tanner Kelly, Waucenda; Bruce White, Kingsford; Mark Schroeder, Green Bay, WI; Lou Goss, Green Bay, WI; Cory Cootware, Iron Mountain; Travis Rodewald, Manitowoc, WI; Mike Reichenberger, Appleton, WI; Joey Pontbriand, Norway; Robby Iverson, Escanaba; Mike D’Angelo Jr., Marquette

SEMI-FEATURE – Cootware; White; Goss; Tim Howen, Kingsford; Brett Breitenfeldt, Wausau, WI; Robert Younger, De Pere, WI

HEATS 1ST) Younger; Cootware 2nd) White; Stanchina 3rd) Lindsley; Mackesy

DASH – Monday

FAST TIME – Zehr, 14.422


Barre Vermont's Nick Sweet is 3 for 4 on PASS Tour in 2020


Hicken wins Maritime Super Late Season Opener at Petty