WISCONSIN DELLS, WI – The first Joe Shear Classic was held in 2008 at Madison International Speedway and Minnesota’s Dan Fredrickson was victorious. Now Fredrickson and fellow Shear winners Andrew Morrissey, Johnny Sauter and Austin Nason have their sights set on winning it again, this time at Dells Raceway Park. The 200-lap, $10,000 to win ARCA Midwest Tour event takes place this Saturday night September 5 at DRP.

Having finished in the runner-up position the past two seasons in ARCA Midwest Tour action, Austin Nason kicked off the 2018 season by winning the Joe Shear Classic. It was the first of three career triumphs for the second generation Illinois racer who won at his home track of Rockford Speedway in the 2018 All-Star 100. The former Florida Speedweeks winner once again caught national attention when he beat a star studded field to the line on Father’s Day 2019 as racing returned to The Milwaukee Mile.

Andrew Morrissey is the 2011 ARCA Midwest Tour Champion and is the only active driver to have won the Joe Shear Classic more than once. Nathan Haseleu is the other two-time Shear winner. With big Tour wins to his credit including the Oktoberfest 200 at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway, he is still seeking his first Tour win at DRP. Last Labor Day Weekend he finished in the runner-up position at DRP after a third place effort the year prior. DRP has been generally a strong suit for Morrissey, a track where he has won both their season opening Icebreaker and season ending Falloween Super Late Model events.

One of his sixteen Midwest Tour wins came at DRP. Sitting second on the all-time wins list in Tour history, that win came for Dan Fredrickson back in his second Championship season, 2013. Now picking and choosing which events to run each season, Fredrickson and his crew which usually consists of his kids and his brother David, is ready to take home the one of a kind Wehrs Machine Joe Shear Classic trophy Saturday night. His only other tour start of 2020 came at State Park Speedway and saw him roll into the pits last, unload and set fast time. Trouble on the original restart spoiled Fredrickson’s chances of a seventeenth win, which he will be in the running for this Holiday weekend.

Johnny Sauter’s last ARCA Midwest Tour victory came on Labor Day Weekend of 2018, at Dells Raceway Park in what has traditionally been the Escape to Wisconsin 100 for the touring Super Late Model series. With schedules impacted in 2020, the Joe Shear Classic was moved from Madison International Speedway to this weekend at Dells Raceway Park. Having won the Joe Shear Classic in 2015, Sauter is amongst the favorites of the 35 ARCA Midwest Tour Super Late Models currently entered for this weekend’s event. Sauter is the 2016 NASCAR Truck Series and 2001 American Speed Association (ASA) Champion.

Joining the Midwest Tour will be the Midwest Trucks and 602 Late Models. Spectator events will open at 3pm for the Holiday weekend special event, with qualifying at 4:30 and racing at 6pm Saturday night September 5. Adult general admission tickets are $25, Seniors (65 and over) and Students (ages 13-17) are $22 with kids ages 12 and under admitted free.

General admission tickets can be purchased in advance (see link below) or at the track box office on the day of the event. Those that purchased tickets for the postponed May 3 Joe Shear Classic 200 at Madison International Speedway can use that ticket to gain admission at Dells Raceway Park Saturday September 5. For additional information please visit www.midwesttour.racing or email gm@misracing.com. Dells Raceway Park is located two miles west of I-90/94 at Exit 85 (Rocky Arbor) just off of Highway 12.


ARCA Midwest Tour Release and Photo

Stay tuned to superlatemodel.com. We will have more from the ARCA Midwest Tour as it becomes available.

2020 Joe Shear Classic 200 – Dells Raceway Park
Preliminary Entry List

[supsystic-tables id=285]

For more information on the ARCA Midwest Tour visit midwesttour.racing




Riverside International Tentatively Plans Event for 2020