WEST SALEM, WI – The Super Late Models will contest five features over four days during the 51st Oktoberfest Race Weekend at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway, October 8-11, 2020. The popular top tier asphalt division expects drivers from nine states and Canada to compete throughout the weekend of racing festivities.

The Futures Super Late Model feature will be the first feature contested for the Super Late Models on Oktoberfest Opening Night, Thursday October 8. This class is open to any driver under the age of 30 that has not finished in the top three of ARCA Midwest Tour Points as well as those drivers over the age of 30 that have never run in a Sunday Oktoberfest Main Event or competed in NASCAR’s Top Three Series. An array of drivers from local weekly Super Late Model tracks, the Alive for 5 Series, Tundra Series, CWRA and ARCA Midwest Tour are expected to compete in the 25 lap feature event utilizing an expanded regional rule package. Current NASCAR Truck Rookie standout Derek Kraus won the action packed 2019 Futures feature event.

Photo courtesy of Ricky Bassman

Friday night will again be highlighted by The Original Dick Trickle 99, featuring three 33 lap feature events for the Super Late Models as well as ‘The Stubby’ and C features. Often boasting one of the largest Super Late Model fields in the nation each season, this event remains a favorite amongst fans, teams, officials and drivers alike. The overall winner is determined by the lowest score in the three segments, a segment win garners a driver one point while a tenth place segment finish is worth 10 points. With the first segment lined up straight up by qualifying and last chance finishes, the second segment is then the first segment finish inverted based on the draw plus ten. The final segment is inverted again based on the draw plus ten, but this time based on current Trickle 99 points. Last year Nick Murgic won the overall title over Dan Fredrickson by a tie breaker as Murgic outpaced Fredrickson in the third and final segment.

The remainder of the race weekend will see the ‘Stars and Cars’ of the ARCA Midwest Tour carry the Super Late Model torch. The Tour will qualify and contest preliminary events on Saturday night with a Last Chance race slated for Sunday afternoon. The big 200 lap Championship feature will highlight Sunday’s racing slate, with twenty eight drivers scheduled to take the green flag. At the conclusion of 200 laps last year, it was Ty Majeski recording his second Midwest Tour Oktoberfest triumph over a hard charging Dan Fredrickson. Fredrickson is tied with Travis Sauter amongst active drivers with four Oktoberfest Main Event Wins, trailing only Joe Shear on the all-time Oktoberfest wins list.



A total of 17 divisions of racing action will make up the 51st Oktoberfest Race Weekend October 8-11, 2020. For additional information including Schedules, Rules, Camper Village information, Registration and more, visit www.oktoberfestraceweekend.com or call 608-786-1525.

LaCrosse Speedway Oktoberfest Release

Stay tuned to superlatemodel.com. We will have more from the ARCA Midwest Tour and Oktoberfest at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway as it becomes available.

Oktoberfest Trickle 99 Feature Points

1st – 1 pt.

2nd – 2 pts.

3rd – 3 pts.

4th – 4 pts.

5th – 5 pts.

6th – 6 pts.

7th – 7 pts.

8th – 8 pts.

9th – 9 pts.

10th – 10 pts.

*Add one point for each position thereafter.

Oktoberfest Trickle 99 Segments: Explained

1 – starting line up determined by qualifying results
segment winner gets one point, second gets two points, and so on.
2 – starting line up determined by inverting Segment 1 finishing order
last place starts 1st, second to last starts outside pole and so on.
3 – starting line up inverted based on points standings after 1 & 2
overall winner determined by least points accumulated in all segments

More information on the 51st annual Oktoberfest at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway can be found at oktoberfestraceweekend.com. For more information on LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway visit lacrossespeedway.com.


Momentum carries Braden into 2020 US Short Track Nationals


Kent Vincent Celebrates 30 years of Racing this Saturday