PORTAGE, WI – The wait is finally over. After a nearly two-month delay, the TUNDRA Super Late Model Series begins its tenth season this Saturday, July 4 with the North American Cup Dedicated to Carl Wegner at Dells Raceway Park.

The event is dedicated to Carl Wegner, the founder of Wegner Motorsports. Wegner was an incredible supporter of the TUNDRA series, and short track racing in general. His son Casey has carried on his legacy of providing engines for top teams across a wide array of motorsports.

Saturday’s expected field is full of drivers who will be gunning for this season’s TUNDRA title. Among the drivers are three-time series Champions Casey Johnson and Dalton Zehr. Both will be chasing a fourth title this season, although Zehr will be team driving with John Beale.

There are a number of drivers who will try to make them wait for another title. Gabe Sommers, Jordan Thiel, Mike Lichtfeld, Justin Mondeik, and Colin Reffner have all enjoyed Top Five TUNDRA point finishes in the last three seasons. The first three in that listing have recorded TUNDRA wins at Dells, with Sommers claiming the checkered flag last season.

Plenty of other contenders for the title will hope to get off to a fast start. Chad Butz, Wyatt Brooks, Jordan Devoy, Darek Gress, and Jake Zellmer had strong runs during the 2019 season. Consistency throughout the 2020 year could propel them onto the scene and into title contention. Also look for Steve Lichtfeld and Dennis “Barney” Smith to make plenty of noise this season as they continue to step up their programs.

New faces to the TUNDRA series include Minnesota’s Michael Ostdiek, former Late Model front runners Kody Hubred, Brock Heinrich, and Riley Stenjem, and returners Chad Devine and Josh Wallace.

Visitors to TUNDRA for this Saturday’s event include former Alive For Five/TUNDRA winner at DRP Jeff Storm, nine-time Golden Sands Champion Mark Eswein, CWRA standout Monte Gress, Curt Tillman, and Adam Oxborough making his TUNDRA debut. Other entrants have expressed interest in attending and will be added to the strong field on race day.

For more information on the North American Cup Dedicated to Carl Wegner and TUNDRA Super Late Model Series visit tundrasuperlates.com

Round One
North American Cup Dedicated to Carl Wegner
Saturday, July 4
Expected Entry List (25 as of 7/1/20)
00 – Darek Gress, Neillsville, Wis. [TT]
2 – Jordan Thiel, Darboy, Wis. [TT]
5 – Casey Johnson, Edgerton, Wis. [TT]
8 – Chad Butz, Green Bay, Wis. [TT]
15 – Gabe Sommers, Plover, Wis. [TT]
18 – Michael Ostdiek, Lakeville, Minn. [TT]
20 – Kody Hubred, Utica, Wis. [TT][R]
25 – Wyatt Brooks, Amherst, Wis. [TT]
25 – Adam Oxborough, Ramsey, Minn.
25 – Jeff Storm, Waterford, Wis.
32 – Steve Lichtfeld, Portage, Wis. [TT]
38 – Jordan DeVoy, Lake Geneva, Wis. [TT]
40 – Curt Tillman, Rockford, Ill.
44 – Mike Lichtfeld, Pardeeville, Wis. [TT]
44 – Justin Mondeik, Gleason, Wis. [TT]
51 – Dennis Schmidt, Juneau, Wis. [TT]
52 – Brock Heinrich, Wausau, Wis. [TT][R]
54 – Chad Devine, Mackville, Wis. [TT]
71 – Mark Eswein, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
77 – Riley Stenjem, Stoughton, Wis.
80 – Monte Gress, Neillsville, Wis.
87 – Colin Reffner, Wisconsin Rapids, Wis. [TT]
87 – Josh Wallace, Genoa City, Wis. [TT]
99 – Jake Zellmer, Burlington, Wis. [TT]
119 – Dalton Zehr, Somewhereville, Idaho [TT]

TUNDRA Super Late Model Press Release


CARS Tour & ARCA/CRA Release Entries for American Freedom 300


Officials Release Entries for 41st Annual Slinger Nationals